✨ Queer Agenda ✨ 5/3: Decolonizing Design Research with AIANY's Center for Architecture

First of all, how is it gonna be May already???

Second of all, Queeries is going to be on a panel!!! Feeling grateful that this baby project is getting out into the world and taking its first few steps with the support of so many others—including you, dear reader. Let’s queeeeeer this up!

Decolonizing Design Research: Measuring Justice

Monday, May 3, 2021, 6-8 PM EDT / 5-7 PM CDT / 4-6 PM MDT / 3-6PM PDT

Registration required—go to the AIANY website. Let me know if the fee is prohibitive and I’ll see if I can get you on the guest list!

“Decolonizing Design Research” is a workshop series that explores how research can create spaces and places that reflect values of anti-racism and justice. The dominance of western design aesthetics and research methods is largely invisible to those who were trained in design. As a result, these practices can reinforce existing power structures that are harmful to many. This workshop series will provide a space to understand how to mitigate bias in design research methods and learn about less familiar methods used in other disciplines and contexts.

The fourth and final event in this series explores measuring justice in design research and outcomes. Understanding and questioning current metrics for justice and how equitable they are will be the focus of this discussion, with a desire to provide a place for further exploration into the actors – who they are and who they should be. We will invite inquiry into questions such as: 

  • What are just metrics?

  • What do just metrics tell us?

  • How are these metrics evaluated?

  • Who has the power to define just metrics?

More information on the other panelists and moderator at AIANY’s website. Thank you for the invite, AIANY Social Science and Architecture Committee!

Third of all, save the date for Queer Agenda Meetup / Queeries 1 Discussion on Tuesday, May 11, 2021, 7:00 PM EDT / 6:00 PM CDT / 5:00 PM MDT / 4:00 PM PDT. Official invite coming very very soon ;)